Awards, Earthmoving News

Deere technicians vie for award

The award for John Deere’s Construction and Forestry Service Technician of the Year Award is set to be handed down in August.

Scott Jackson, RDO Equipment, Richlands, Queensland is one of four Australians vying for the award

Veteran mechanics and shrewd technical experts are among the four Australians vying for the John Deere Construction and Forestry Service Technician of the Year Award.

Now in its second year, the Technician Awards recognise hard work and expertise provided by John Deere staff to the construction, forestry, and agriculture industries across Australia and New Zealand.

The award also recognises the effort of technicians to support businesses to be their most efficient, productive and profitable.

John Deere has shortlisted six frontrunners for the Technician of the Year Award in the construction and forestry sectors, which also includes two technicians from New Zealand for the title.

The Australian finalists are:

  • Peter Roughley, RDO Equipment, Eastern Creek
  • Scott Jackson, RDO Equipment, Richlands
  • Max O’Brien, RDO Equipment, Wingfield
  • Ben Mummery, AFGRI Equipment, Albany
Peter Roughley, RDO Equipment, Eastern Creek, New South Wales

John Deere Australia and New Zealand managing director Luke Chandler says the award showcases the high level of service the finalists have given to their industries.

“Technicians deliver services integral to the construction and forestry industry by not only providing vital backup support and remote diagnostics, but by empowering operators to get the most out of their machinery and technology,” Chandler says.

“Australia is fortunate to have an enormous pool of talented technicians working across our forestry, construction and earthworks sites, so these finalists deserve to be very proud for being named among the best in their field.”

In all, John Deere received more than 100 nominations for the Awards, with other categories including Technician of the Year in other sectors including agriculture, turf, and parts, as well as service apprentice of the year and parts apprentice of the year.

The award winners will be announced at an event in Brisbane on August 5.

Send this to a friend