Archive, Industry News

Women recognised for construction achievements

Bechtel’s Maurissa Douglas Rogers and Seymour Whyte’s Amandine Daniel have taken home awards for achievement in construction at the National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC) Queensland’s 2015 Crystal Vision Awards.

NAWIC says the awards, presented earlier this month, “recognise the inspirational women who play a crucial role in what is a traditionally male-dominated industry. The awards celebrate the champions of change, who work tirelessly to achieve equal engagement for women in the construction industry, now and into the future.”

Douglas Rogers’ gong was the Construction Skills Queensland Award for Achievement in Construction (General Building), while Daniel’s recognition was the Civil Contractors Federation Award for Achievement in Construction (Civil Works).

The Laing O’Rourke Crystal Vision Award for Advancing the Interests of Women in the Construction Industry went to Liza Ringahl of Thomson Adsett.

NAWIC chapter president for Queensland and the Northern Territory Marnie Beckett says the evening at Brisbane’s Pullman Hotel provided an opportunity for individuals and companies to shine a spotlight on some of the incredible women in their industry.

The 12 award categories honoured women for their outstanding contributions to the industry across different areas including Design, Civil Works, Environmental Sustainability, Leadership, Innovation, Business, and as a Student, Apprentice or Trainee.

Other award winners were:

  • Aurecon Award for Achievement in Design — Sofia Castillo Molina Des of Laing O’Rourke.
  • Queensland Government Award for Achievement as a Business Woman (Small Business – 250 staff or less) — Liza Ringdahl of Thomson Adsett.
  • NAWIC Award for Achievement as a Business Woman (Large Business – 251 staff or more) — Tracey Winters of QGC.
  • Bechtel Award for Achievement in Health & Safety and/or Environment — Adrienne Keyes of Bechtel and Kylie Van Rysbergen of Lend Lease.
  •  Queensland University of Technology Award for Innovation — Kim Thomas of Aurecon.
  • Seymour Whyte Award to a Young Achiever — Emilija Trajkovska of John Holland.
  • NAWIC Award for Achievement in Marketing, Community Engagement and Communication Excellence — Reanna Harper of Arup.
  • Face to Face Training Award for Achievement in the Construction Industry by an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander Woman — Sherree Raffin of Mount Low Electrical Services.
  • Corrs Chambers Westgarth Award for Diversity — Kaitlyn Moore of O’Connell Agencies.


2015-Crystal -Vision -Awards 


Send this to a friend